Posted by: wanton me | October 10, 2007

My very first..

Was at HMV today.
Wanted to find a particular title but it was out of stock.
Then went to look for one that’s been lingering in my mind for the longest time, and madre mia! It’s right there staring at me from it’s uber shining box!

Labyrinth

Yup. At the age of 25, I finally bought my first dvd. The picture doesn’t do it justice, for the box is actually a hologram of effects in the background. It also says it’s an anniversary edition; a 2-disc edition with many special features and many extra footage and cool stuff.

I know. Many of you haven’t even heard of it before.

I’m not the biggest fan of the fantasy genre, but when I was young I remembered watching this on tv and it captured me; it scared me; most importantly it made me remember it. I don’t remember much, but it was a masterpiece. It was made in 1986, which makes me like what, 4 years old when it was out? So I must have probably seen it in the early or mid 90s.

It’s about this girl, played by the young 16 year old Jennifer Connelly, who tries to find his baby brother back after her wish of hoping that he was captured by goblins came true. So the adventure begins as she enters the labyrinth.

Watching the show meant I was a smart boy who knew the meaning of the word ‘labyrinth’, although till now I still have problems spelling it. =x

And buying the DVD meant that I was poorer by $57!! As someone who’s the ultimate wishy washy consumer when it comes to items that cost more than $20, it will usually take me days to ponder over the decision to get it or not. But when I saw it there and then, it took me less than 5minutes before I was paying at the counter.

As I walked down Orchard Road, I kept thinking about the $57 well spent; how I’d be able to finally watch it again after all these years, and more importantly I’d be watching it with Inamorata, who is 200% clueless of this film’s existence. I think it’s so nice to share something that you have fond memories of, with someone you love.

Anyone of you seen the film? Heard of it?

Responses

  1. no leh never hear or seen it before… not very into fantasy anyway.. dun like to fantasize hahahaha

  2. -_-

    I don’t really like it nowadays also. Hairy Potter, lord of the rings…

    But this show was way back then. Perhaps when I was young I did like to get away from reality.


Leave a Reply

Categories

