Posted by: wanton me | October 21, 2007

The Farce of the Penguins

Before I talk about this latest movie I saw, I wanna say that I just remembered that Labryinth wasn’t my first dvd that I bought.

GIzmo!

Gremlins! Bought during a sale for $10 many months back.

Ok, so I recently rented The Farce of the Penguins.

 

From dictionary.com:
farce      [fahrs] Pronunciation KeyShow IPA Pronunciation noun, verb, farced, farc·ing.

–noun

1. a light, humorous play in which the plot depends upon a skillfully exploited situation rather than upon the development of character.
2. humor of the type displayed in such works.
3. foolish show; mockery; a ridiculous sham.

So this show is a parody of The March of the Penguins, which I did not watch.

This farce is about two good penguin friends Carl and Jim trekking their way for 70miles to find their mating partner. Carl suffers a mid life crisis, wondering why penguins do nothing except eat, sleep, shit and have sex.

The movie is basically American humour full of sex and vulgarities. And you get to see stock footage of animals having sex. So erm, I suppose M18 lah.

It’s directed by Bob Saget! Some of you will find this name familiar. Yeah he’s that host from the very original version of America’s Funniest Home Videos.

 
Quotes:

Female penguin: I want a bigger house, Carl.
Carl: But we live outdoors! You’re asking for something outside the realm of reality!

Check out the website:
http://www.farceofthepenguins.com/

Leave a Reply

Categories

